For media visits and additional information, contact Dixon, Chuck or Helen Dedman at Beaumont Inn at 859-734-3381.
See below for high resolution images to download!
Press Release: Beaumont Receives James Beard Award, May 2015
As their parents, grandparents, and great-grandparents before them have done, the Dedman family welcomes guests to Kentucky’s oldest family-operated country inn, the Beaumont Inn in historic Harrodsburg, Kentucky. Recipient of the 2015 James Beard Foundation America’s Classic Award, they are also home to Kentucky Owl (Garden & Gun’s drink of the year) and popular stop on the Kentucky Bourbon Trail.
Since 1919, guests have enjoyed the inn’s ambiance and style of grand Southern tradition. For nearly a century, memorabilia, antiques, and memories have been gathered here. Listed on the National Register of Historic Places, Beaumont Inn is honored with numerous national hospitality and food awards during the last 90 years.
The spacious, park-like grounds of the Beaumont Inn include four buildings in which the 33 guestrooms are located. Each building is an integral part of the history of the Inn, and each expresses a distinct period of the heritage of the family. Traditional Kentucky cuisine includes their famous yellow-legged fried chicken, two-year-old Kentucky cured country ham, corn pudding and cornmeal batter cake in their main dining room. Fine wines, spirits, draft beer and casual dining are found in their Old Owl Tavern and the Owl’s Nest pub.
For business meetings or private banquets, Beaumont Inn offers the unique experience of genuine Kentucky tradition. The meeting room’s historic ambiance and the highly acclaimed reputation of the adjoining dining room deliver a complete, comfortable, and productive experience for meetings and small conferences.
Other amenities include gracious common rooms, an exceptional shop featuring distinctive and unique gifts, outdoor swimming pool and walking trails. The historic center of Harrodsburg is a short walk, and there are many attractions nearby in the famous Bluegrass Region, including Keeneland.
Constructed in 1845, the building which is now the Main Inn at The Beaumont Inn was a school for young ladies of our grandmothers’ and greatgrandmothers’ day. It was owned by Dr. Samuel Mullins and operated as Greenville Institute until 1855.
For the next forty years, the school was known as Daughters’ College and was under the direction of Mr. John Augustus Williams, former president of the University of Kentucky.
In 1894, the school was bought by Colonel Thomas Smith, veteran of the army of the Confederate States of America. The school operated as Beaumont College until 1916. It was purchased by Mr. and Mrs. Glave Goddard in 1917 and converted by them into the Beaumont Inn two years later.
Now, almost a century afterward, descendants of the Goddards continue to refine the art of southern hospitality. Here in a park-like setting of centuries old forest trees, serenely remote from the cares of the work-a-day world, the fourth and fifth generations of the family now open the doors of the Beaumont Inn to welcome guests to their heritage and hospitality. Read more history.
Other buildings at the inn include:
Greystone House features four large, delightful bedrooms. Originally built in 1931 as a private residence adjoining the Inn property, the gracious home has become an integral part of the Inn.
The Bell Cottage, a smaller free-standing building was built in 1921 and named for the great-grandparents of the present Innkeeper. It is home to a spa.
Goddard Hall, built in 1935, features 10 deluxe guest rooms with queen size beds. The Hall is named after Annie Bell Goddard, founder of the Beaumont Inn. Several of these rooms contain framed memorabilia and articles of clothing belonging to the founder.